What happens when a user sends STOP to my toll-free number?
- Toll-Free Numbers
- Outbound SMS
- US Carriers
The opt-out flow for US toll-free numbers is managed at a network level and is enforced by the US operators. The service can not be disabled. It works as follows:
- A user sends the word STOP to the toll-free number.
- The carrier sends the following outbound message to the user: NETWORK MSG: You replied with the word "stop" which blocks all texts sent from this number. Text back "unstop" or "start" to receive messages again.
- Any subsequent MT messages sent from the toll-free number will fail with error code 9 and the message Illegal Number - you tried to send a message to a blacklisted phone number. That is, the user has already sent a STOP opt-out message and no longer wishes to receive messages from you.
- If the user wishes to re-subscribe to the service, they can send a new message to the toll-free number with the word UNSTOP or START.
- User STOP, UNSTOP and START requests are forwarded back to users.